Oliver (Whitedell Pride #6) by Catherine Lievens ~ Book Review by Brandilyn

Oliver Title: Oliver (Whitedell Pride #6)

Author: Catherine Lievens

Publisher: eXtasy

Cover Artist: unknown

Rating: 3 of 5 Stars

Blurb:

What matters is not what you are, but who you are.

Oliver is human, or at least he was until the Glass Research Company kidnapped him and experimented on him. Now he has a bear sharing his mind, but he’s not able to shift, and he’s confused. Is he a shifter, or a human? What’s worse, he’s getting sicker every day, and no one seems to know how to help him. He can’t even bond with his mate because he doesn’t want Sebastian to hurt if something happens to him.

Sebastian wants his mate to be cured, and the only way to do that is to go to New York and kidnap one of the company’s scientists. With the help of his pride brothers, he manages to do just that, but having Oliver cured doesn’t mean all their problems are over.

Oliver will have to deal with learning how to shift and trying to convince Sebastian that he’s fine and that he can be claimed, but once he manages to do that, other problems arise. Will the two lovers finally have the time to just be together, or will the pressure push them apart?

Brandilyn’s View:

For readers of Catherine Lievens’ Whitedell Pride series, Oliver is a story we have been waiting for since book one. Oliver is a human turned lab experiment turned failed bear shifter. He has been living with the Whitedell Pride since he was rescued from the evil scientists alongside Jamie and Finn.

His mate, Sebastian, is a little bit more of an enigma. He has appeared a few times throughout the series as a quiet, timid, member of the Whitedell Pride. Of course, that doesn’t seem to fit with a Lion shifter persona.

As with the other stories in this series, the fated mates are reluctant to mate with each other. First one doesn’t know they are mates, and then the other doesn’t want to hurt the first, and then they find other reasons. It is pretty much the same story as the first five installments. In the end, they are too in love to avoid the mate bond, and they consummate and fuck like… well and bear and a lion.

There isn’t a lot of originality to this series. It is just different players with the same basic plot. In each installment, we find out a little bit more about the labs and the scientists. We meet another couple of characters who happen to be fated mates with someone living in the Whitedell Pride mansion.

The next installment is Ani and Dominic’s story. I am not entirely sure if I care enough to continue.

Buy Links

eXtasy
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with the eARC of this title in exchange for my honest opinion.

Farewell Giveaway
I have a number of paperbacks, most of which are signed, to giveaway. Over the between now (11 Mar 2017) and 31 Mar 2017, every comment on the blog (this post and all other new posts), will be entered to win 1 of these paperbacks. There are also some misc swag items, so there will be a few packs of these to give away as well.

Thank you so much for your support over the last 4 years. Prism will be closing its doors on 1 April 2017. All content will remain available, but no new content will appear after 31 Mar 2017. As such all request forms have been turned off. Again Thank you,

Brandilyn
This post may contain affiliate links.
Prism Book Alliance® assumes no liability for the ownership of photos or content used in guest posts and interviews.  The post author assumes all responsibility and liability for this content.

Leave a Reply