The Intersection of Purgatory and Paradise (Least Likely Partnership #3) by AJ Thomas ~ Book Review by Brandilyn

IntersectionofPurgatoryandParadiseTheLG Title: The Intersection of Purgatory and Paradise (Least Likely Partnership #3)

Author: AJ Thomas

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Cover Artist: Brooke Albrecht

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Blurb:

Least Likely Partnership: Book Three

Life in small-town Montana has become hell for former San Diego homicide detective Christopher Hayes. No one will hire him, he has made the seething racism his lover Doug Heavy Runner faces at work worse by adding homophobia to the mix, and his most recent jog through town ends when two gay-bashing teenagers hit him in the head with a rock. Deputy Sheriff Doug Heavy Runner has never overcome the abusive relationship that traumatized and shattered him as a young adult. The memories, the lingering shame, and the fear he has never acknowledged have left him resigned to endure the discrimination he faces in Elkin. But he can’t stand it when Christopher becomes a target for that same hatred.

When the mutilated body of one of the boys who assaulted Christopher is found in Doug’s garage, Christopher and Doug return from a vacation in San Diego and uncover a tangle of secrets, lies, and tragedy lurking beneath Elkin’s small-town façade. With their relationship at a crossroads, they’ll have to work together to catch the killer and maybe find a paradise of their own.

Brandilyn’s View:

Depression is an insidious thing. It is something I deal with on a daily basis. For this reason, book three in AJ Thomas’ Least Likely Partnership series hit especially close to home. For some people that depression is a matter of circumstances and is fleeting. For others, it can lead them into dark places from which they will never return. The Intersection of Purgatory and Paradise deals with both extremes.

Though the main theme of Intersection is quite bleak, the story is one of hope more than anything else. It is one of making the tough choices. It is about that other person who completes you and giving everything to them.

There are some potential triggers, but I admire the way Thomas handles them. There is talk of abuse, rape, suicide, and of course murder. But every instance is handled with respect and reverence. Every instance adds to the plot and or the characters. There is no sensationalizing these acts. There is only coping and moving on.

We return to the relationship of Doug and Christopher from book 1, A Casual Weekend Thing. While you don’t strictly have to have read book one, to understand and appreciate Intersection, I think the story is certainly enriched by already being connected to Christopher and Doug. By already being invested in their relationship. If I didn’t have a handle on Doug from book one, I don’t think I could have looked past some of his actions in the early part of the story. I don’t know that I would have wanted him to be Christopher’s happily ever after.

Fans of Elliott and Ray from book 2, Holding Out For a Fairytale, will get a satisfying peek into the lives of those two.

Demons of the past can have a significant impact on your present and future. The Intersection of Purgatory and Paradise is about facing those demons and moving forward, with a satisfying mystery thrown in to shed light on your shortcomings.

Buy Links

Dreamspinner Press
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
All Romance eBooks
Barnes & Noble

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with the eARC of this title in exchange for my honest opinion.

Farewell Giveaway
I have a number of paperbacks, most of which are signed, to giveaway. Over the between now (11 Mar 2017) and 31 Mar 2017, every comment on the blog (this post and all other new posts), will be entered to win 1 of these paperbacks. There are also some misc swag items, so there will be a few packs of these to give away as well.

Thank you so much for your support over the last 4 years. Prism will be closing its doors on 1 April 2017. All content will remain available, but no new content will appear after 31 Mar 2017. As such all request forms have been turned off. Again Thank you,

Brandilyn
This post may contain affiliate links.
Prism Book Alliance® assumes no liability for the ownership of photos or content used in guest posts and interviews.  The post author assumes all responsibility and liability for this content.

4 thoughts on “The Intersection of Purgatory and Paradise (Least Likely Partnership #3) by AJ Thomas ~ Book Review by Brandilyn

  1. Loved A Casual Weekend Thing and really enjoyed Holding Out for a Fairytale as well so I’m looking forward to this book!

Leave a Reply