On the Clock (Market Garden #8) by LA Witt and Aleksandr Voinov ~ Book Review by Brandilyn

On-the-clockTitle: On the Clock (Market Garden #8)

Author: LA Witt and Aleksandr Voinov

Publisher: Riptide

Cover Artist: LC Chase

Rating: 4.5 of 5 Stars

Publication Date: 07/13/2015

Length: Novel (~ 50K-100K)

Genre: Contemporary, Erotica, M/M Romance

Blurb:

When Blake Raleigh’s favorite rentboys retire from Market Garden, they’re sure their friend Jason will be a perfect replacement. Though Tristan and Jared are a tough act to follow, Blake returns to London to test out their recommendation.

Jason is right on the money. Negotiations turn him on. Getting paid turns him on. The higher the stakes, the hotter things get. Each trip to London is more expensive than the last, and the webcam sessions don’t run cheap, but Jason is well worth the sticker shock.

The more time they spend together, the more Blake wants, and not just sex and transactions. But Jason’s been burned before by men who thought they were in love with him, and he’s not making that mistake again. When the lines between personal and professional start to blur, it’s going to take more than money, jewelry, and sports cars to keep Jason from clocking out and walking away.

My View:

Hot. Hot. Hot. Did I mention HOT? Yeah, that is the best way I can describe… well… the entire Market Garden series.

In the series, you have two multi-book story arcs (Tristan/Jared and Spencer/Nick) and a few basically stand-alones. On the Clock is one of those basically stand-alones. You can read it and enjoy it on its own, but you will get more out of the story if you read at the very least the Tristan/Jared story arc, which is told in Quid Pro Quo, Take it Off, and Payoff.

We first meet our main character, so far known only as Rolex, in Quid Pro Quo. He is the American john who hires both Tristan and Jared for a high stakes voyeuristic encounter. QPQ is still one of the single hottest sex scenes I have read in the M/M genre. He returns to the London club MG twice more for increasingly erotic encounters with Tristan and Jared. This story is one for which I, and many other fans of the Market Garden series, have been begging.

At the start of On the Clock, Tristan and Jared have retired from Market Garden. They have recommended to Blake (aka Rolex) a fitting replacement. He is perfect for Blake, and the heat is off the charts from their first encounter. If you thought the stakes were high with T&J, they are even higher with Jason.

Their encounters become more than just simple games of negotiations and power. At some point, feelings (and not the physical kind) get involved. That is where On the Clock diverges from the Tristan/Jared story arc. There is an actual story here for Blake and Jason. They find a bond that transcends rentboy/john. They become friends, and maybe more. We get to see the dynamic change slowly over the course of their relationship. I appreciate that they don’t go from john/rentboy to HEA without some work and soul searching.

Oh and for fans of Tristan & Jared, there might be a little scene involving our favorite former-rentboy couple that may have transplanted QPQ in that top spot. Just saying.

Links

On the Clock (Market Garden #8) on Goodreads
Riptide
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
All Romance eBooks

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with the eARC of this title in exchange for my honest opinion.

Farewell Giveaway
I have a number of paperbacks, most of which are signed, to giveaway. Over the between now (11 Mar 2017) and 31 Mar 2017, every comment on the blog (this post and all other new posts), will be entered to win 1 of these paperbacks. There are also some misc swag items, so there will be a few packs of these to give away as well.

Thank you so much for your support over the last 4 years. Prism will be closing its doors on 1 April 2017. All content will remain available, but no new content will appear after 31 Mar 2017. As such all request forms have been turned off. Again Thank you,

Brandilyn
This post may contain affiliate links.
Prism Book Alliance® assumes no liability for the ownership of photos or content used in guest posts and interviews.  The post author assumes all responsibility and liability for this content.

2 thoughts on “On the Clock (Market Garden #8) by LA Witt and Aleksandr Voinov ~ Book Review by Brandilyn

  1. I definitely agree with your review. This one was very hot!! Loved that Tristan and Jared made an appearance, too. 😉 Hope we get to see more of these guys in future books. Such a great series. 🙂

Leave a Reply