Checkmate Ever After by Lex Chase ~ Book Review by Brandilyn

o-checkmate-ever-afterTitle: Checkmate Ever After

Author: Lex Chase

Publisher: DSP Publications

Cover Artist: Anne Cain

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Publication Date: 12/15/2015

Length: Novel (~ 50K-100K)

Genre: Fantasy, Gay Fiction


The day disgraced superhero Memphis Rook literally fell into Hogarth Dawson’s lap, you could say it was fate. But the brawny Rook did nearly crush Garth’s pancreas. What started as two ships passing in the night ended on the weirdest adventure of their lives. Together, Rook and Garth form Checkmate, a daring super duo that keeps Axis City safe from a rogue’s gallery of nefarious villains, dastardly masterminds, and a coalition of calamity. Fighting evil wherever it appears—from reality shows to comic book conventions—Checkmate serves up knuckle sandwiches of justice. But by day, they’re a couple of broke losers who can barely afford a burger and navigating a weird thing called a relationship. Ain’t true love grand? Rook and Garth may be in over their heads, and even super heroes fail sometimes, but they’re ready to take a stand when no one else will. Don’t hate the players, because Checkmate owns the game.

1st Edition of Pawn Takes Rook published by Dreamspinner Press, 2013.
1st Edition of Cashing the Reality Check published by Dreamspinner Press, 2013.
1st Edition of Conventional Love published by Dreamspinner Press, 2014.

My View:

If you like comic books and M/M Romance, then Checkmate Ever After is a book written with you in mind. Checkmate Ever After is an omnibus collection which includes the three original (previously published) Checkmate stories, Pawn Takes Rook, Cashing the Reality Check, and Conventional Love as well as two new stories – the sweet holiday tale Miracle in Axis City and the free short What the Water Gave Me (which is also available by itself).

Together these four stories tell the story of how fated enemies, Pawn (aka Hogarth Dawson) and (Memphis) Rook, found deep and abiding love – all while saving Axis City (and themselves) from various supervillains.

Each of the four stories included in this omnibus are complete tales. They give you the background you need to enjoy each story on its own, but you learn a little more about Garth and Memphis (together and separately) in each story. They build on each other in the sense that there is an overarching storyline tying all four stories together. That of Checkmate of course.

I don’t think this is the end of Pawn and Rook’s story. I there are still unanswered questions and adventures to be had.


Checkmate Ever After on Goodreads
DSP Publications
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with the eARC of this title in exchange for my honest opinion.

Farewell Giveaway
I have a number of paperbacks, most of which are signed, to giveaway. Over the between now (11 Mar 2017) and 31 Mar 2017, every comment on the blog (this post and all other new posts), will be entered to win 1 of these paperbacks. There are also some misc swag items, so there will be a few packs of these to give away as well.

Thank you so much for your support over the last 4 years. Prism will be closing its doors on 1 April 2017. All content will remain available, but no new content will appear after 31 Mar 2017. As such all request forms have been turned off. Again Thank you,

This post may contain affiliate links.
Prism Book Alliance® assumes no liability for the ownership of photos or content used in guest posts and interviews.  The post author assumes all responsibility and liability for this content.

Leave a Reply