Building a Home by Megan Linden ~ Book Review by Brandilyn

Building-a-HomeTitle: Building a Home
Series: Harrington Hills #2

Author: Megan Linden

Publisher: Pride Publishing

Cover Artist: Unknown

Rating: 3.5 of 5 Stars

Publication Date: 10/11/2016

Length: Novella (~ 15K-50K)

Genre: Gay Romance, Paranormal

Blurb:

Book 2 in the Harrington Hills series

Dating a younger guy wasn’t anywhere in Zack’s plans, but can he ignore the instincts of his wolf?

Zack Harrington noticed David Dewitt the day the guy showed up in Harrington Hills, but their first meeting was far from perfect. A few months later, Zack still can’t forget about him, and now that the two of them belong to the same pack, their paths cross even more. The problem is, David is barely twenty-two, and Zack still remembers how stupid he was at that age.

David knows he’s young, but he’s tired of hearing about it all the time. He’s not a kid, and he hates being treated like one, even—or especially—by the hot deputy sheriff. But as they get to know each other better and the sparks between them turn hotter, David’s willing to forgive and forget.

Can they move past the age difference and their own personal hang-ups? Or will they ultimately fall into a trap of miscommunication and hiding?

My View:

I enjoyed Megan Linden’s first Harrington Hill’s installment, Leading Me Home, enough that I knew the minute I finished it, I wanted to revisit the series. For that reason picking up Building a Home was a no brainer.

If you have read the first installment, then you know that there is a little something sparking between a certain alpha’s favorite cousin and another certain contractor who just happened to save the wedding day. This is not a fated mates story, so there is never a moment where you are like “Just do it, you know it is going to happen.” (Though the romance trope does lend itself to that.)

They had to find other issues to overcome. That issue was mostly Zack’s insecurities about his age and his past. He was quite stuck in that past. David, for his part, was proud of who he was and everything he did to get there. He also wasn’t willing to put up with being anything less than the man Zack was proud to have on his arm, even if that broke his own heart in the process. I have to respect David for his attitude.

The amount of time Zack harped on the age difference got a bit annoying and who he “used to be.” For one thing that age difference really wasn’t that much – eight years. For another, he isn’t who he used to be. If he couldn’t get over it, he shouldn’t have been sleeping with David nearly so much! So yeah, I got a little tired of that.

However, the sweetness of the rest of it and the desire to see how the HEA came about kept me turning the pages.

For fans of Kevin and Taylor, don’t worry we get to see them in mated bliss 😉

Links

Building a Home on Goodreads
Pride Publishing
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
All Romance eBooks

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with the eARC of this title in exchange for my honest opinion.

Farewell Giveaway
I have a number of paperbacks, most of which are signed, to giveaway. Over the between now (11 Mar 2017) and 31 Mar 2017, every comment on the blog (this post and all other new posts), will be entered to win 1 of these paperbacks. There are also some misc swag items, so there will be a few packs of these to give away as well.

Thank you so much for your support over the last 4 years. Prism will be closing its doors on 1 April 2017. All content will remain available, but no new content will appear after 31 Mar 2017. As such all request forms have been turned off. Again Thank you,

Brandilyn
This post may contain affiliate links.
Prism Book Alliance® assumes no liability for the ownership of photos or content used in guest posts and interviews.  The post author assumes all responsibility and liability for this content.

Leave a Reply